I just finished reading a book which was written as a “member’s guide to the local church”.  While I have benefited from much of the truth found within its pages, I particularly enjoyed the last chapter, “Praying for One Another.”  Included in this chapter were the prayers that the Apostle Paul prayed for the local church and recorded for our edification.  Over the last two days, I have found much joy in praying these passages of Scripture on behalf of you, my church family at UFC.  And as I set out to continue this discipline of delight, I invite you to join me in petitioning our Heavenly Father on behalf of one another.  I intend to post a passage each day for the next few days with some specific requests highlighted from the text.  If you feel so inclined, here’s the first one:

Read Romans 1:8-12

  • Pray that UFC will have a ministry beyond the community of Norman.  Remember some specific missionaries (i.e. the Thomas family) serving in other areas.
  • Pray that you personally will be able to build relationships in the body in which you can help others to grow in Christ and serve Him better.  Mention some believers with whom you already have relationships, and pray about some specific ways you can build them up spiritually.
  • Pray that you and the other members of the church will find encouragement in Christ by sharing with one another the good things God is doing in your lives.  Ask God to help you and others not to focus primarily on the weaknesses of the body and its members, but rather on the common faith that we all share.

P.S.  I have found that praying God’s Word back to Him is one of the greatest ways to bolster my prayer life (which often needs bolstering).  What better way to pray than to repeat God’s own thoughts back to Him?  Try it with any passage of Scripture.  It doesn’t have to be one that is written in prayer form.

(Prayer guide taken and modified from Life in the Father’s House:  A Member’s Guide to the Local Church; Mack, W. and Swavely, D. 1996)

